Ahenfo Radio Denmark

Sweden extends travel ban for non-EU residents

Sweden has extended a ban on entry from outside the EU, four days before it was set to run out.

Sweden has had the entry ban in place since mid-March, in line with the EU’s coronavirus recommendations, but has updated it several times. On Thursday the government again extended it from August 31st to October 31st.

The exemptions to the ban all remain in place. Those include people from the following countries, regardless of their purpose of travel (which means anyone, including tourists, from those countries can travel to Sweden):

  • EU/EEA, Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, Switzerland, Vatican City
  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Georgia
  • Japan
  • New Zealand
  • Rwanda
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • Tunisia
  • Uruguay

Other exceptions include for example people who are travelling for urgent family reasons, workers in key jobs, or people who are moving to Sweden. You can read a full list of exemptions here.

Related posts

Ghana To Sign £40m Agreement With UK To Upgrade Kumasi Airport


The Øresund bridge lights up in rainbow colors


Airport Manager At Gotland Will Set Up Direct Flights From Norway


Leave a Comment